Problem with never-ending auto-update

Hello,

This is my first time posting here although I have used F-Secure for years.  My problem is that two days ago my F-Secure startind continuously downloading updates.  Sometimes it finishes the download and just starts again but sometimes it is getting to about 90% and then repeatedly going back to 70 or 80%.  When I look at the activity, it says that there has been a successful update check today but no updates show as having been installed in the last two days.

I'm using Internet Security 2011witha n extended licence valid for another year.

Can anyone help me with a suggestion of how to fix this?

Cheers,

John

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 0 Former F-Secure Employee

Hi John,

Please check this:
    - F-Secure > Settings > Other settings > Downloads
    What are the latest packages received but in BOLD and not installed yet?

Thanks.

Best Regards,
    Jayson

• johnf17
    johnf17 Posts: 5 Observer

Hi Jayson,

Thanks for the reply.  I'm afraid that it has got worse.  I tried updating it from 2011 to 2013.  This seemed to work at first but now I have two new problems:

1) It won't update at all and gives a message that "There is not enough room on the disk".  There is actually over 500GB of free space.

2) Both the virus & spyware scanning and the spam & phishing filtering are reporting malfunctions and showing as inactive.  Deepguard and the firewall show as OK.  I uninstalled F-Secure completely using the removal tool and reinstalled twice but the problem keeps coming back.

I have run a full scan with Malwarebytes and also a full scan with the F-Secure online scanner and neither of them found any infection.  All my other programs are running normally and  there doesn't seem to be any suspicious behaviour.

Any advice would be appreciated as I don't want to have to go back to Norton or Macafee.

Cheers,

John

• [Deleted User]

Hi John,