Windows 11: Freedome replaced by F-Secure

Options
Greydutch
Greydutch Posts: 4 Observer
edited April 28 in F-Secure VPN

Hello,

Yesterday I was summoned to deinstall the Freedome App and to install the F-Secure App instead. The reasons given are not very clear (all of a sudden: end of life?). I have a valid subscription until the end of this year.

Anyway, I did as I was told, but I now have two issues:

• The new programme starts whenever I start Windows although I unchecked this option in the settings.
  • Once started there is no option to end the programme, the menu just does not provide it! This is really strange.

As it appears a programme named fshoster64.exe is running in the background. This is something I do not want, as I only intend to use Freedome/F-Secure occasionally.

Is there a remedy for these two issues?

Many thanks!

Answers

• Firmy
    Firmy Posts: 1,712 Community Manager
    Options

Hello @Greydutch

Welcome to the F-Secure Community. Thank you for your feedback.

The new programme starts whenever I start Windows although I unchecked this option in the settings.]

Could you please confirm if you're referring to the "Automatic VPN protection" feature? If so, could you try turning off the VPN, deselecting the option, and then closing the app? Afterward, please restart your device and check if the option remains disabled and if the VPN connection is established upon restarting. Ideally, the VPN should not automatically turn on.

Once started there is no option to end the programme, the menu just does not provide it! This is really strange.

We understand that there isn't a shortcut in the system tray to easily turn off or quit the app like F-Secure Freedome VPN. However, we appreciate your feedback on improving the app's functionality. You can explore and vote for ideas that resonate with you by visiting this link.