Latest version of F-Secure won't load on Windows 7.

Options
JohnG11
JohnG11 Posts: 2 Observer

Hi, I've been using F-Secure successfully for many years and have an existing, working, licensed copy on my Windows 7 computer. The licence expires in November.

Having just (14th October '23) purchased a two year licence for the latest version (F-Secure-Safe-Network-Installer) to update my copy I'm informed "Check System Requirements - This version of Windows is not supported, please make sure you have the right operating system and service packs installed".

Am I no longer able to get F-Secure protection?

John G.

Accepted Answer

• Ukko
    Ukko Posts: 3,624 Superuser
    Answer ✓
    Options

Hello,

Yes, it is a very unpleasant situation.

I updated the software because the currently installed version kept on and on nagging me that my subscription was about to run out. There was a link to renew it which I followed. At no time did the current version tell me the newest version wouldn't work on Win 7 nor, when I went to the F-Secure site, did it tell me there that Win 7 was no longer supported.

On current day, there is a transition with EoL of old F-Secure IS and F-Secure AV (F-Secure Internet Security and F-Secure Anti-Virus reaching end of sales - F-Secure Community) and so free 'upgrade' to much more powerful solution like F-Secure TOTAL (or 'optionally': new F-Secure Internet Security; known before as F-Secure SAFE). As described there: Switching from the old F-Secure Internet Security or Anti-Virus product to F-Secure Total - F-Secure Community

I think that 'renewal' guide was a part of this change. And it means 'updating' subscription - so the user can utilize it with any of his platform (which is supported by F-Secure software). Probably, because of this - no any specific notifications about Windows 7 unsupported state or something similar.