BSOD after installing newer version of F-Secure Safe in windows 10 education laptop

Hi there,

I have F-Secure Safe installed in my laptop which is a Windows 10 Education system. The laptop is a Toshiba Satellite P50-B-10V model with Intel i7-4710HQ processor, 16 GB or RAM and 1TB Hard Disk.

F-Secure safe used to work without problems previously but the last upgrade that was offered causes BSOD with complaints about fsni64.sys. I went to safe mode to uninstall F-Secure Safe and then retried again to install it but I had again the same problem. So now I have completely uninstalled F-Secure safe and installed instead a free antivirus and the laptop works fine. Can you tell me what is the problem or alternatively can you provide a link to an older version of F-Secure to install, because as I said it used to work fine prior to the last upgrade?

Best regards

George

Comments

• Simon
    Simon Posts: 2,667 Superuser

I'm not really an expert on this sort of thing, but when you uninstalled FS, did you run the F-Secure Uninstallation Tool ?  if not, it may be worth a try, then reinstall from scratch. 

If the problem persists, I would suggest raising a Support Ticket attaching the file from the Support Tool so that the tech guys can have a look at what's going on.

• georgek
    georgek Posts: 7 Observer

Hi Simon,

Yes I have used the F-Secure Uninstallation tool to uninstall F-Secure Safe completely. Then I tried to install it again but I had the same problem.

Thanks

G.

• Simon
    Simon Posts: 2,667 Superuser
    I think this is one for F-Secure to answer. You might like to have a look here for a bit more info, but I wouldn't recommend downloading any of the supposed "fixes" until you've had a response from FS, or at least someone more technical than me.

http://www.solvusoft.com/en/files/bsod-blue-screen-error/sys/windows/f-secure-corporation/f-secure-network-interceptor-driver-64bit/fsni64-sys/
  • georgek

Hi Simon