Is my Mac more at-risk installing anti-virus than running without?

A little preface here: I'm a big fan of F-Secure and have followed them for years, this is more of an industry note than anything else

I'm a contract consultant who often works with companies evaluate risk and develop security policies. I practice sanitary behavior and have not had a known infection on any of my personal computers in over 10 years (at least I can't recall much further back than that).

However, due to the nature of my work the risk exposure requires that I take every practical precaution. One of these is using commercially available anti-virus software on my personal computers.

I've been a Mac user for about 6 years, and although I toyed with anti-virus early on I quickly abandoned its use due to the lack of known Mac exploits and the actual system issues I encountered related to poorly written and maintained software.

Anti-virus for Mac has since evolved along with the accompanying platform-specific malware. When Flashback was detected in the wild I decided it was time to re-implement anti-virus on my Mac PCs. I also recommended to my clients that it was time to put anti-virus on their Macs.

I've been struggling to find a good product for the last few months, and through a few stop and start efforts with other vendors have landed on F-Secure. It is difficult to find a well-engineered product from a firm with a stellar detection record (F-Secure I hope has both).

As I downloaded the F-Secure for Mac trial today I noted two things (that are also true of other security vendors, it should be noted that F-Secure isn't doing worse than anyone else):

• F-Secure does not sign their installation packages. This relatively simple effort would bring F-Secure (a security vendor) up to par with the security hoops Apple has recommended for all Apple developers (and that thanks to the App store, most have been forced to abide).