Acronis True Image 2020

Kimmo13
Kimmo13 Posts: 32 Contributor

Hello,

I'm wondering if it is possible to run Acronis True Image 2020 alongside F-Secure SAFE without fear of any compatibility problem ?

Answers

• Simon
    Simon Posts: 2,667 Superuser

I don't see why there would be any compatibility issues. I have been running Acronis TI 2017 for three years alongside F-Secure without any problems.

• Kimmo13
    edited May 2020

Hello,

Thanks @Simon for your explanations.

Another question @Simon , do you have "Active Protection" ON in your Acronis True Image ?

• Simon

Bearing in mind mine is an older version, is that where it's constantly making backups on the fly? If that's the case, then no I don't, I just use it for scheduled backups, but I still don't see how that could affect FS as Acronis isn't an antivirus product (unless it's changed since 2017) so there should be no conflicts.

• Kimmo13

Thanks again @Simon for your explanations.

I'm not yet using ATI so I don't know what exactly means "Active Protection" ?

However, I read this article https://www.acronis.com/en-us/active-protection/

• Simon

OK, so that seems to be a fairly new thing, which I'm not familiar with. Lots of other types of 'protection' software seem to be trying to be a jack-of-all-trades, and sometimes can work against each other so I think you were right to query this. It does state:

"Acronis Active Protection is an advanced ransomware protection technology. Completely compatible with the most common anti-malware solutions, our technology actively protects all of the data on your systems, including documents, media files, programs, and more – even your Acronis Backup Files."

However, when you click the link, only a few antivirus products are listed and FS isn't one of them.