The removal of the Trusted Networks feature from F-Secure VPN on iOS
The removal of the Trusted Networks feature from F-Secure VPN on iOS has made the user experience worse. Users should be able to define their own trusted Wi-Fi networks where the VPN does not start automatically. The current "Turn on VPN automatically" option does not solve this issue, because the VPN remains active even on trusted home networks.
The previous behavior was better: the VPN could automatically activate on public or unknown networks while staying disabled on user-defined trusted networks.
Please consider bringing back a Trusted Networks/ trusted Wi-Fi network feature for the ios
VPN app. This kind of user control is important for people who want automatic protection without having the VPN running unnecessarily at home or on other trusted networks.
I regret subscribing for 2 year :(.
Comments
-
Hello,
Sorry for my comment. I am not iOS user or VPN as such.
Did you mean that even this 'recently' introduced change (Wi-Fi Protection / Protecting your WiFi connections with VPN) is now being replaced?
Or/and "autoenabling" VPN was indeed possible to configure only for untrusted networks?
-
No, I mean that you cannot define trusted networks anymore as a user but the system decides what networks are trusted and what not :(.
Okay, just to keep this discussion away from the other topic (where there might be more response from official representatives or more experienced users with iOS/VPN) - I did not provide a proper URL in my previous comment, but looks like this Online Help: Protecting your WiFi connections with VPN with instructions how to 'decide' which network are trusted to you (and it was declared to be possible since mentioned discussion in another topic; and this KB article).
The thing is, that might not be the case at all. But it would be strange if they hadn't updated or corrected the instructions by now.
In other words, the "trusted networks" feature itself is still there (per documentation; and part of Wi-Fi Protection now); only the location where you select it has changed; and perhaps the way it works is slightly different, too. For example, maybe specifically for the part where you want the VPN connection to turn on or not turn off automatically. Based on one of the discussions, I got the impression that they might be mutually exclusive (such as ""a trusted network that bypasses the automatic use of VPN"", but if it should be configured or not is unclear for me).
