F-Secure Failure on 2 Computers? Also, Scan Problems

F-Secure 2.06 build 303

We're relatively new to F-Secure -- we switched from Trend to F-Secure in April.  Overall, things had been OK until yesterday.

Yesterday, I got a Windows (64-bit Win 7 Pro) notification that my computer wasn't protected with anti-virus or spyware protection.  I checked F-Secure & found an error message that it hadn't loaded & to restart the computer.  Multiple restarts failed to correct the problem, so Support instructed me to use the Uninstall tool & reinstall.  Which I did.

Today, on my laptop computer (64-bit Win 8.1 Pro), I got a message that my subscription had expired.  Which it hadn't -- our subscription is valid until April of next year.  I tried to contact Support, but after waiting in chat for 5+ minutes, I gave up.  My plan is to use the Uninstall tool & reinstall.  <sigh>

Any ideas what would cause these problems on two different computers so close together?  We have three other licenses in use (two desktop computers & one mobile device), so I'd really rather avoid problems with those if possible.

As long as I'm posting, I'm wondering if anyone can provide any tips for making scheduled scans work better?  Specifically with respect to my main desktop computer.  It's a relatively new computer with an Intel i7 processor, but the computer grinds to a crawl & is basically unusable for quite a long time when a  scheduled scan is occuring.  I initially had the scan scheduled for the wee hours, but since the computer goes to sleep, I don't think F-Secure was waking it to do the scan.  I'm wondering if there are setting I've done incorrectly that are causing the scan to make the computer basically unusable during the scan?