Findings while using Freedom for the first day (Speed and Network Security)

Hi,

I have been using the F-Secure Freedom VPN service now for on day on my local computer and want to write some of my findings. I have been using other VPN services since a couple of years and was pleased to see F-Secure starting with a VPN service, based in Finland EU.

Internet Connection Speed with Freedom

I'm living in Sweden and have a rather fast internet connection, 250 Mbit/s downlink and 100 Mbit uplink.

I have tried using Freedom to connect to several available servers. Some of the speed examples I'm receving when testing with Speedtest.net below:

- VPN Server Germany = Downlink 6 Mbit/s / Uplink 30 Mbit/s

- VPN Server Netherlands = Downlink 5 Mbit/s Uplink 20 Mbit/s

- VPN Server Finland = Downlink 30 Mbit/s Uplink 50 Mbit/s

For a comparison, the other VPN service from another company I'm using, I can connect UK, NL, USA and CA. I have receive the following speed, when for example using the their VPN server in Netherlands: Downlink 195 Mbit/s, Uplink 93 Mbit/s.

As you see, the speed of my internet connection is going down rather much, compared to using other compatitors VPN service or compared to using no VPN connection at all. 

Portscan - Ping - Security

I'm regular checking the functionality of the firewall and with the help of "Shields Up" from grc.com.

When using F-Secure Freedom, I'm recieving the following result (connected to server in Finland).

GRC Port Authority Report created on UTC: 2015-03-29 at 06:12:02

Results from scan of ports: 0-1055

1 Ports Open
   70 Ports Closed
  985 Ports Stealth
---------------------
 1056 Ports Tested

The port found to be OPEN was: 443

Ports found to be CLOSED were: 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 31, 61, 62, 91,