How do I get Adware off of my computer?

I have windows 7 and my scan showed I have adware. I've never done this before on my own. It said that it couldn't be opened and it was in a zip file. I would appreciate any help on this. 

Comments

• NikK
    NikK Posts: 903 Forum Champion

Did you get a chance of selecting an action to be performed for the found infection? Like clean, delete or quarantine.

I'm not sure but you may have to take action on the zip file instead of the infected file inside it. If the zip file is not important you can delete it, or you can open the zip file and delete the infected file inside it. But do not execute the infected file!

You could try the Online Scanner I think that'll clean any infections without asking anything.

Adware is usually harmless and not always detected by anti-virus products. Try the free Malwarebytes Anti-Malware it will find and remove any PUPs = Potentially Unwanted Programs, which are applications that behaves in ways you don't want, like displaying ads and pop-ups for example. It's a great program that I recommend to all, regardless of which anti-virus product you have.

• Blackcat
    Blackcat Posts: 503 Influencer

As NikK said, if the zipped file is not important simply delete it.

However, I would not use F-Secure's Online scanner unless you have backup/image in place as it may delete clean files by marking them as false positives.

SnapCrab_NoName_2013-12-24_11-40-34_No-00.png

I would not recommend/use any scanner that carries out an action by itself without any user interaction e.g. It should ask for a response when a supposedly "infected" file is detected!

F-Secure, like a number of other AVs will not catch everything and it needs help with adware/spyware/PUPs etc. 

So as NikK says, Malwarebytes is a great on-demand second scanner to support F-Secure.

• Simon
    Simon Posts: 2,667 Superuser