Why is renewal more expensive than a new subscription?

I wanted to update my F-Secure Antivirus subscription today, but noticed that a 1 year renewal (€49.90) costs more than a new subscription for one year (€39.95). This makes absolutely no sense to me? I've been using F-Secure for 6 years now; is this how loyal customers are rewarded? Is there any reason why I should not order a new subscription and still go for the renewal?

By the way: My current _24_ month renewal from 2 years ago and the one before that, also 24 months,  cost €49.90 as well. So effectively the prices have doubled since then...

Comments

• Laksh
    Laksh Posts: 4,224 Former F-Secure Employee

Hi GvanderVen,

Thank you for reporting it to us. I checked through the page for renewal and the price seen in the main webpage is diffferent than the actual order page. In the main renewal webpage, the price for Anti-Virus seen is €49.90 (3 devices for 1 year). However, once you click on renew in the mainpage and go to the order page, the price for renewal for Anti-Virus is € 34,99 (3 devices for 1 year).

I will forward this to our internal team for them to have a look.

• GvanderVen
    GvanderVen Posts: 6 Observer

Ehm, nope. On the order page, the price is also €49.90.

• GvanderVen

In the mean time, my subscription has expired (leaving me unprotected), because I was waiting for this problem to be solved.

The order page *still* says €49,90.

Can you help me with this quickly please?

• Ukko
    Ukko Posts: 3,611 Superuser

Hello,

Sorry for my reply. I also just F-Secure user.

But do you talk about provided previously URLs (with them - I also can to see difference between page price and order-page price)? Or your experience about kind of "special" renewal URL from mail-letter (as example) or something else?

At least - when you open this URL:

https://www.f-secure.com/en/web/home_global/anti-virus-renew