Re: Ransomware Protection

Hello!  My MacPro has become infected with what seems to be a ransomware virus - I am not an expert - I was notified of this by a McAfee popup which claims it came from gumtree.com or mygumtree.com which is an infected site. It is probably related to my recent update with High Sierra 10.1.13.  The McAfee pop up however while offering a 'Free' cleanup led to a choice of subscriptions from $160 + upwards.  I suspect phishing therefore.  At least it could be  a fake McAfee phishing popup related - the virus itself.   f-secure also detected this problem which is now in the applesand/library. I think f-secure already dealt with the issue.  I ought to report this problem to the police but cannot precisely identify it.  I am going to erase and reload the OS.    

Advice gratefully received!

Comments

• BrVi32
    BrVi32 Posts: 3 New Member

I have the impression f-secure is neutralizing these viruses so they remain silently in the computer.  Is that possible? 

• Ukko
    Ukko Posts: 3,611 Superuser
    Hello!  My MacPro has become infected with what seems to be a ransomware virus - I am not an expert - I was notified of this by a McAfee popup which claims it came from gumtree.com or mygumtree.com which is an infected site. It is probably related to my recent update with High Sierra 10.1.13.  The McAfee pop up however while offering a 'Free' cleanup led to a choice of subscriptions from $160 + upwards.  I suspect phishing therefore.  At least it could be  a fake McAfee phishing popup related - the virus itself.   f-secure also detected this problem which is now in the applesand/library. I think f-secure already dealt with the issue.  I ought to report this problem to the police but cannot precisely identify it.  I am going to erase and reload the OS.    
    Advice gratefully received!

Hello,

Your descriptions sounds as potential fake advertisements or JavaScript-based rogue/scam (for example, well-known threats as js.cryxos ).