The pop-ups you refer to are a new feature in the product. It checks all new networks you connect to and verifies that they resolve DNS properly. This is to check that for example router is not hijacked or malicious. You should see the flyer only once for every network you connect to. If you change networks often, you would see the flyers often.
If you open product timeline, you should also find these notifications there.