Unattended uninstallation Client Security

Hello everyone!

 

In our company we have F-Secure Policy Manager 12 (on Linux) and Client Security 12 for the clients.

Is there a way to uninstall silently F-Secure from the client?

Is there a way to re-install the software silently, so that all the settings are the ones of the new MSI installed? 

The MSI we have works perfectly on a computer with no F-Secure Client Security however if there is already a Client Security installed the new MSI is basically ignored, the MSI is configured to remove conflicting software.

In alternative, how do I run the UninstallTool unattended?

Best Answer

  • Luca_AcquireBPOLuca_AcquireBPO Posts: 6
    Accepted Answer

    Hi Vad,

     

    Thank you for your reply.

    I was looking for a more generic silent uninstallation, also assuming that the communication between client and policy manager is not available.

     

    A solution that can be suitable (provided by F-Secure tech support) may be

     

    Quoting from Tech Support email 

    ---

    - You can create a logon script for this. This are the options for script Usage:

    1 - UninstallationTool.exe  - Accept licence terms, GUI shown, Prompt for reboot (Consumer default)
    2 - UninstallationTool.exe -a --nogui  - Accept license terms, no GUI displayed, auto-reboot
    3 - UninstallationTool.exe -a --nogui --noreboot  - Accept license terms, no GUI displayed, no auto-reboot
    4 - UninstallationTool.exe -s -a --nogui  - Completely silent, auto-reboot
    5 - UninstallationTool.exe -s -a --nogui --reboot-delay=60  - Completely silent, auto-reboot 60 seconds after execution finishes (with user countdown)

    ---

     

Comments

  • VadVad Posts: 1,051 F-Secure Employee

    Hello Luca_AcquireBRO,

     

    Regarding the uninstallation. Policy based uninstallation from Policy Manager Console is a correct, quick and easy way.

    After that you can use new MSI installer.

     

    Best regards,

    Vad

  • Still to understand why a new MSI installation does not overwrite the current installation
This discussion has been closed.