Error Assertion failed since last update March 2021

ErikGeurtjensErikGeurtjens Posts: 7 New Member

Hi,

Hello,

I have been using Fsecure Key for several years without any problems (via XS4all). Since the last update of 1,5 week ago I get a C++ error. 

I am using Fsecure Key on a windows 10 machine (64 bits). 

Windows is fully updated. 

I have uninstalled F secure Key, and reinstalled it. This has no effect. Same error

Does anyone have a solution ?

Accepted Answer

• CaleCale Posts: 113 F-Secure Product Manager
    Accepted Answer

Hi,

We were not able reproduce the issue, but we identified a possible cause for the assertion message and included a fix in the next version that is scheduled to be released at the end of April. Sorry for the trouble you have gone through.

-Cale

ErikGeurtjensLakshJaimsUkko

Answers

• LucaseuropaLucaseuropa Posts: 254 Moderator

Dear @ErikGeurtjens

Thank you very much for your question.

Please note that F-Secure KEY via XS4ALL is a modified version of our program offer for XS4ALL customers.

You might, however, try to completely remove this app using our tools first (just bear in mind that it can also remove SAFE by XS4ALL from your computer).

1. Download the Uninstallation Tool for Windows from our Support Tools page.
    2. Run the executable FsUninstallationTool.exe. The User Account Controls appears.
    3. Click Yes.
    4. Click Start.
    5. Select "F-Secure KEY" and click Next to initiate the uninstallation process.
    6. Click Restart when prompted. This is to remove remaining files.
    7. After the restart, reinstall KEY from XS4ALL website.

Also, by removing the app using the UI tools, you'll also get rid of the data that is stored on your computer, so please either make a backup of your passwords by exporting them or make sure that you have synchronized KEY on your Windows with KEY app i.e. on a mobile device.

Cheers,

Lucas

• ErikGeurtjensErikGeurtjens Posts: 7 New Member

Hi Lucas,