Key vs ID Protection

marihmarih Posts: 4

Hello,

I tried googling and looking at your forums, but did not find answers, so maybe this will help. I've been hearing ads on the radio about F-Secure ID protection. I have a paid subscription to F-Secure Key which I use for all my passwords. Some questions:

1) What is the difference between Key and ID Protection? Is the latter just a newer product with more features?

2) Is it going to replace Key?

3) How would I go about switching to ID Protection subscription-wise?

4) How about password transfer-wise? I found some instructions for transferring on desktop, but I only have key on my iPhone. I don't think my 2008 Macbook is supported anymore. At least it doesn't have the latest OS updates. Yes, I have been paying the subscription even though I only use it on one device, because I like the product.

5) If I do manage to switch, can the subscription be shared to my kids using iOS App Store's family sharing? Or is there a free version for one device like Key has? They don't have any password manager yet, but it's about time they get one.

Answers

• LucaseuropaLucaseuropa Posts: 150 Moderator

Hello @marih !

Thank you very much for your post and for your interest in our products.

I will try to briefly answer all of your questions.

1) What is the difference between Key and ID Protection? Is the latter just a newer product with more features?

2) Is it going to replace Key?

ID PROTECTION has now replaced KEY in My F-Secure as part of our new offering to prevent identity theft. ID PROTECTION offers not only a password manager, but also email monitoring to keep track of data breaches and other cyber-security incidents that may affect your passwords and personal data.

With F-Secure TOTAL, the number of ID PROTECTION licenses and monitored items is determined by your TOTAL subscription. For example, if you have a 5-device subscription, you can have ID PROTECTION on five devices with up to 10 email addresses monitored.