AV clientes not showing up in PMC

We have recently upgraded from version 8 (expired) to version 10 of PMS/PMC.  We are using only the AV client.  We were using version 8.01 of AV client.  Via push install we upgraded those clients to version 9.2 and 9.31 now.

 

The curious thing is that when you do that, if you go and see the installed programs in WinXP and Win7, they are showing up twice, and the worst thing we have notices is that some of those upgraded clients are not showing up in the PMC.

 

If I pick one of those machines that are not showing up in PMC, they have the latest AV client and are working fine.

 

Is someone else experiencing the same symptoms?

 

What I did to correct the situation is uninstalling the client an reinstalling, and only then, they show up as autoregistered hosts.  I will like to know how this is happening, and how to correct it.  It's simply to much work to discover the hosts that are working fine, but missing in PMC.

 

Thank's in advance!

Comments

  • Jari-PJari-P Posts: 79 F-Secure Product Expert

    Hi descuder22,

     

    Could you please open support ticket regarding this :

     

    http://www.f-secure.com/en/web/home_global/support/contact

     

     

  • MJ-perCompMJ-perComp Posts: 1,101 Superuser

    Hi,

     

    before upgrading the V8 clients each should have sucessfull received a new policy from PM10. Using the PUSH method to upgrade you most likely broke the first time registration of V8 Clients to the new PM10. Some clients now reregister a second time, some think they do not need to report back!

     

    why did you chose to use PUSH instead of the recommended policy based update? That would have done everything inth erigh order...

     

    anyway:

    1) setup correct autoimport rules. These will take care the host register to the correct subdomains

    2) make a smal change on root level of the policy and distribute. This will take care that each host receives a new policy.

    3) ignore the old duplicates for the moment  find them a a few days from status and delet them manually. This is to clean up the duplicates in the end.

     

    HTH

     

     

     

     

This discussion has been closed.