Cancelling/Clearing installation of an update through Software Updater
A certain Windows update installed through Software updater caused a Blue Screen of Death on all our PCs of a specific model. After being able to recover using a system restore point, i would like to exclude these updates from being installed automatically.
I created an exclusion rule, which works fine on PCs where the update had not yet been installed.
However, on the affected PCs, the update is still shown as "Updating installation status", since it tried and failed installation before.
A forced new scan of required updates does not change anything on the state.
How can I reset the status of such an update and make sure it is not installed again?