Reply
Visitor
PsychoSteve
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎23-10-2012

Deep Guard - Internet Security

I having just discovered - after much mucking about - that Deep Guard has been the cause of a severe reduction in internet speed.

 

I recently had Fibre Optic Broadband installed and couldn't understand why the speed remained the same after it was installed (according to the online speed checker).

 

After activating and deactivating everything in Internet Security Suite I found the problem was with Deep Guard. With DG activated the speed read 2Mbps with DG deactivated the speed read 38Mbps.

 

You may already be aware of this, if so, sorry! If not I'm sure you will be able to rectify it at some point!

Please use plain text.
F-Secure
Jayson
Posts: 579
Registered: ‎30-05-2011

Re: Deep Guard - Internet Security

Hi PsychoSteve,

I have moved this post to Protection/Safe board.

Please open a Support Ticket for further investigate in this issue:
http://www.f-secure.com/en/web/home_global/support/contact

Kindly include an FSDIAG of an affected system to your support ticket.

Thanks.


Best Regards,
Jayson

"A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new" -Albert Einstein

Has somebody helped you? Say thanks by giving kudos. Has your issue been solved? Mark the post using "Accept As Solution" button to let others know.
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
Rusli
Posts: 852
Registered: ‎06-06-2011

Re: Deep Guard - Internet Security

I have reported the issues since the release version of F-Secure 2013.

 

It really is drag down the Internet Connections.

 

I'm not so sure if Deep Guard is the issues.

 

I hope F-Secure guys takes note of this.

 

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
Rusli
Posts: 852
Registered: ‎06-06-2011

Re: Deep Guard - Internet Security

If you install FS2013. It could be using F-Secure DNS.That causing it.

Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
mag3rd
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-08-2011

Re: Deep Guard - Internet Security


Rusli wrote:

If you install FS2013. It could be using F-Secure DNS.That causing it.


 

What is F-Secure DNS?  I am having the exact same issues with FS 2013. All Internet operations (including POP3, SMTP and HTTP/S) all grind to a screeching halt when FS 2013 is installed. I've tried to turn off select bits of it (e.g. Deep Guard) but that doesn't seem to work. Even though Deep Guard indicates it's "turned off," the slowness still exists. Only a complete uninstall of FS 2013 seems to return everything to normal speed.

 

Oddly enough, I am currently writing this message with FS 2013 "uninstalled," and when using this community board, I experience the same issues. I do not when browsing other sites. I gather your own website is using this "F-Secure DNS."

 

Please help. I like the product, but this slowness in IP operations is unacceptable!

 

Regards,
Arnold.

 

 

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
Rusli
Posts: 852
Registered: ‎06-06-2011

Re: Deep Guard - Internet Security

During the fresh Install of the F-Secure Internet Security 2013.

 

It will download the files, and install the program.

 

It did prompt you, whether did you want to enable F-Secure DNS??? (It using F-Secure DNS Server)

 

You must select No from this option.

 

 

Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
mag3rd
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-08-2011

Re: Deep Guard - Internet Security


Rusli wrote:

During the fresh Install of the F-Secure Internet Security 2013.

 

It will download the files, and install the program.

 

It did prompt you, whether did you want to enable F-Secure DNS??? (It using F-Secure DNS Server)

 

You must select No from this option.

 

 


 

I don't recall ever being given a choice of "F-Secure DNS" or not. Had I been given this choice, I would have chosen *not* to install it.

 

I have been trying to re-install the product to test this, however, I have a new problem now. When I try to re-install using the "F-SecureNetworkInstallerUpg.exe"  program, it continues to return the error: "upgrade failed."  When I go back to the original network installer program I used "F-Secure2012NetworkInstaller.exe" is says the program is outdated and to use the latest download from the website. When I do that, I get the same "F-SecureNetworkInstallerUpg.exe" that continues to tell me "upgrade failed."

 

What do I do now?  I still have 2 of 3 key uses available, which I purchased on 08/01/2012.  I shouldn't have to pay again.

 

Thank you.

 

 

Please use plain text.
F-Secure Product Expert
Hailan
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎14-02-2012

Re: Deep Guard - Internet Security

[ Edited ]

 

Hi Mag3rd,

It seems your uninstallation might not have completed successfully and that some remaining components are causing issues with your reinstallation. Could you please use our uninstallation tool and attempt to reinstall afterwards.

 

If the issue persist please open a support case Here

As stated previously when opening a case we require an  FSDIAG

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
Rusli
Posts: 852
Registered: ‎06-06-2011

Re: Deep Guard - Internet Security

Hi

 

Only F-Secure 2013 have F-Secure DNS options to enable when first install.

 

If you are using 2012 previously, you have to use the uninstall tool.

 

Reboot.

 

Then install 2013.

 

The F-Secure 2012 version did not have F-Secure  DNS option to enable.

Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
mag3rd
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-08-2011

Re: Deep Guard - Internet Security

[ Edited ]

Rusli wrote:

Hi

 

Only F-Secure 2013 have F-Secure DNS options to enable when first install.

 

If you are using 2012 previously, you have to use the uninstall tool.

 

Reboot.

 

Then install 2013.

 

The F-Secure 2012 version did not have F-Secure  DNS option to enable.


 

I did use the Uninstall tool.  But now, while attempting to re-install using the "F-SecureNetworkInstallerUpg.exe" module, I continuously get an error now which says "Upgrade failed."  The module then quits.  It seems it can't connect to the server to download the rest of the software.  I can't use the old "F-Secure2012NetworkInstaller,exe" module either, because it give me the "an update is availble, please download that module" error and then also quits. If I go to the website again to download, I keep getting that "F-SecureNetworkInstallerUpg.exe" module that keeps telling me "Upgrade failed."  

 

I don't know what else to do, here.  Perhaps you could provide an URL to give us the correct "full install" module for FS 2013, and not just an "upgrade?"  I'll see if my 2012 keys will work for it.

 

 

 

Please use plain text.

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies due to inactivity. We welcome you to share your thoughts by starting a new post or joining any of our ongoing discussions.
Start a new post.

If relevant, please reference this topic in your post by adding this link:
http://community.f-secure.com/t5/Security/Deep-Guard-Internet-Security/td-p/17118