Restoring backed up files

This article describes how you can restore the backed up files to your computer and to a different computer. Also, this article explains how you can restore an accidentally deleted file.

 

Restoring files to another computer

 

You may sometimes want to restore a backup to a computer other than the one that you used to create the backup.

 

Note: If you have already installed the F-Secure Online Backup program on another computer and backed up files with it, you cannot restore files with it from another computer.

 

To restore backed up files:

 

  1. In the Welcome to F-Secure Online Backup, click Restore my backup to this computer.
  2. In the Log in to F-Secure Online Backup window, do the following:
    1. Enter your e-mail address.
    2. Enter a password.
    3. Click Next.
      You need the e-mail address and password for:
      • receiving reports of backup events on your computer
      • accessing your backed up files on the web
      • any technical support you may require in the future.
  3. Click Next. The program validates your user name.
  4. Select the backup that you want to restore, and click Next.
  5. Select one of the restore types:
    • Restore by files and folders - Select specific files and folders that you want to restore to your computer.
    • Restore all - Restore all files on the backup server to your computer.
  6. Click OK.
  7. Do one of the following:
    • If you selected to restore by files and folders, in the Select specific files and folders window that opens, select the files and foldersthat you want to restore, and click Change... to select the locationto where you want to restore the files.
    • If you selected to restore all, in the Restore all files window thatopens, click Change... to select the location to where you want torestore the files.
  8. Click OK to start the restore operation. When the restore operation is complete, you can view the restored files by clicking the Location path on the Restore page.

Note: We recommend that after restoring your files, youorganize them on your computer, and set up the backup.

 

Restoring to your computer

 

To restore backed up files to the same computer on which they were backed up:

  1. On the main page, click Restore. The Restore page opens.
  2. Select one of the restore types:
    • Restore by files and folders - Select specific files and folders thatyou want to restore to your computer.
    • Restore all - Restore all files on the backup server to yourcomputer.
  3. Click OK.
  4. Do one of the following:
    • If you selected to restore by files and folders, in the Select specificfiles and folders window that opens, select the files and foldersthat you want to restore, and click Change... to select the locationto where you want to restore the files.
    • If you selected to restore all, in the Restore all files window thatopens, click Change... to select the location to where you want torestore the files.
  5. Click OK to start the restore operation.

When the restore operation is complete, you can view the restored files by clicking the Location path on the Restore page.

 

Restoring an accidentally deleted file

 

Files that you have deleted from your computer or excluded from the backup remain in the backup for 15, 30 or 45 days depending on your backup settings.

 

This allows you to recover files if you deleted them from your computer by mistake. You can change the time for keeping deleted backed up files on the server after you delete them from your computer by selecting Settings on the product main page.

(651 Views)

Restoring backed up files

Contributors